Seriously?

It’s hard to believe that it’s that time of year again: Back to School!

I asked one of my former teacher friends if she was going to do any substitute teaching this year.  Her response was, “No. Schools have taken all the fun out of it.”

“What do you mean?” I prodded.

“When I go to elementary schools, I’m not even allowed to use stickers anymore,” she said.  “Schools deem that as a bribe for students to do well.”

SERIOUSLY?

I was appalled.  I loved getting stickers on my papers when I got them back.  It gave me a feeling of accomplishment.  It never acted as a bribe for me to do well.  But even if it did… who cares?

~ by Serena on August 12, 2010.

One Response to “Seriously?”

  1. Wow. That’s not the case in the school where I teach…We do stickers and all kinds of other positive reinforcement. Some schools opt to go ITI/HET (the no-reward philosophy and I’m guessing, is the philosophy of the no-sticker school), but thankfully many schools have not. Now after reading this, I’m very thankful that I’m one of them.

    So, at least here where I teach…. No stickers? Definitely not seriously. We do seriously give stickers and the like. 🙂

Leave a comment