To Everything There is a Season

I’ve had a few friends graciously inquire about when I’m returning to my regularly scheduled blog programming.

The simple answer is, “I don’t know.”

I fully anticipated returning to it post-honeymoon with glee. But then moving happened. And name-change hassles happened.  And work became overly stressful with my boss leaving (I still owe him a fitting farewell post). And 2 funerals popped up in a week at church. And I got diagnosed with Stage 2 adrenal failure. And …and…and…

When I thought repeatedly, “I really need to get a blog post up,” I wanted to cry since it was just one more thing on my ever-bulging plate. Needless to say, posting blogs got shoved to the back burner.

I always said that if my blog became a chore, I would quit.  Right now, with my adrenal issues, I’m sad to say that many of my previous loves (including shopping) are now chores.

This is my season to be quiet. To invest in my marriage. To care for my ailing body. To focus my energies at work.

I beg of you this: Please don’t give up on me. I deeply desire to be back in my blogging routine. If I have things to say that I can formulate into coherent thoughts, I will share them, (You can expect one about turning 30…*sigh.) but they will likely be inconsistently scattered.

Please know that this is incredibly painful. For the last 2.5 years, I have loved godandshoes as a creative outlet for my writing. A way to form an online community and keep in touch with those I love who happen to be far away. It has been therapeutic to share my thoughts and have them affirmed (and sometimes challenged).

I covet your prayers and support.

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens.” –Ecclesiastes 3:1

~ by Serena on July 19, 2011.

3 Responses to “To Everything There is a Season”

  1. Serena, I am so sorry to hear of your losses and stressful few weeks. The Lord has a way of allowing us to trudge until He finally knocks us down for some “forced rest.” If you look at the Old Testament, it was custom that husband and wife had an entire year after marriage to settle – no work, apart from family, just husband & wife learning to love one another as God intended. I am in full support of modern society bringing that back! I pray this is a time for you to “settle” – to receive comfort, love, and gain peace.

    Oh – and I will NEVER go through the process of changing my name again – its this one forever!!!!

  2. “Jesus, I am resting, resting in the joy of what Thou art. I am finding out the greatness of Thy loving heart.” I’m praying this song for you, my friend!

Leave a Reply

 
