Moving My Shoes

The time had come to pack my beloved shoes.  I had put it off and put it off, but it had to be done.

I decided to start with my boots, since they’re out of season anyway.  I went to my closet and came back with an armful. I started putting them in a long, good-sized box.  It wasn’t until I realized that they wouldn’t all fit in said box that I thought, “How many pairs of boots do I have, anyway?”

I own 8 pairs.  That may sound like a high number, but when you think about it, it’s not really that many.  I have knee boots, short boots, heeled boots, wedge boots, casual boots, and dress boots, all in a variety of browns and blacks.  They’re all necessary, I assure you.  They’re also not new… I still wear my first pair of boots that I got as a freshman in college.  (It pays to have a steady shoe size!)

Next came my shoes (insert ominous music here). Whittling down 5 paper boxes full of shoes was harder than you might think.  Even though they were merely moving from my closet to my dining room (so they weren’t completely unaccessible), I struggled to “part” with them, even for a week.  How was I to choose what shoes I would and wouldn’t want to wear when I didn’t know what type of mood I’d be in?  And I knew that as soon as I boxed up my bright green mules, that’s exactly what I would want to wear the next day.  (I know how I operate…)

In the end, I only moved 2 boxes to the “move out pile.”  I just couldn’t part with the rest, even for a few days.  Am I a shoe lover?  You bet! 🙂

~ by Serena on June 10, 2011.

One Response to “Moving My Shoes”

  1. […] site: Moving My Shoes « I'm just a girl who loves God and shoes Posted in Girls Tags: beloved, boots, came-back, closet, closet-and, had-put, off-and, […]

Leave a Reply

 
