Routine

I’m a routine person. 

I get ready for work in the same order.  I pack my gym bag in the same order.  I put on my make up in the same order.  I do my weight routine in the same order. 

My routine-ness acts as somewhat of a security for me that I won’t forget to do something.  On the other hand, I have a friend who does things differently each morning – on purpose – as a way to keep his mind “always on its toes.”  When he told me that (years ago), I thought he was nuts.

…until I read recently in my May Real Simple magazine, “The brain responds to novel experiences by releasing a rush of neurotransmitters, such as dopamine, which make you more alert.”

Now I’m beginning to question my routine routine.  Perhaps I’ll brush my teeth with my left hand just to shake things up a bit. 🙂

Are you a routine person?

~ by Serena on May 31, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
