Do You Ever Wonder…?

Do you ever wonder…

Why we have eyebrows?

What is ear wax made of? 

What are the little things that form in the corner of my eyes overnight?  (What am I even supposed to call them?)

Where do buggers come from?

Why do I get hiccups?

I’m sure there are simple, easy answers to my questions.  Yet, I don’t know them.  (In my own defense, I only took 1 biology class my freshman year of high school.  Needless to say, I don’t remember much of it.  And though Jonathan has subjected me to episodes of Scrubs, my medical knowledge is next to none.)

Do you ever wonder about such things?

~ by Serena on May 23, 2011.

One Response to “Do You Ever Wonder…?”

  1. I wonder things all the time too! It’s fun to find out the answers to questions.

    In this case:
    -eyebrows evolved because humans without them got more debris in their eyes that lead to infection

    -ear wax is made up of dead skin cells, alcohol, and fats

    -those things in the corner of your eyes are called rheum, and they are washed away when you blink. During the night you don’t blink so the liquid accumulates in the corner of your eyes

    -Mucus comes from the mucous membranes, specific cells found near epithelial cells whose sole function is producing mucus! It’s there to protect the epithelial cells from infection. Fun fact: Mucous membranes also protect the epidermis of amphibians which is why they feel slimy!

    -Hiccups is an interesting question as the science behind why we do it is not fully resolved. One hypothesis is that hiccups are an evolutionary remnant from the reflex used in amphibian breathing (!) which would explain why babies without fully formed lungs spend more time hiccuping.

    Isn’t it crazy how sometimes simple answers take us to complex places? “Somewhere, something incredible is waiting to be known.” – Carl Sagan

Leave a Reply

 
