Bin Laden’s Death

I sat at my computer on Monday morning. Did my eyes deceive me?  Was Osama bin Laden really dead? 

It must have been true since it was the hot topic of Facebook posts (since everything you see on Facebook is true :)). Yet the Doubting Serena part of me wants to see the wounds in his hands and side – or, more accurately, his head, I suppose – before I believe it’s actually true.  (Did I just say I want to see a dead body?)

I’ve had mixed reactions to his death.  On one hand, he was the most wanted terrorist in the world.  He delighted in the killing of thousands of people on September 11 – and beyond.  I felt a sense of relief that he was gone and could no longer bring his wrath on innocent people.  With his demise, perhaps we curtailed terrorism in our country.  In essence, did the killing of ONE prevent the killing of MANY? 

…but I still wouldn’t say that I’m celebrating.  The “ding dong the witch is dead” chants all over Facebook somewhat made me sick.  Sure, a very twisted man is dead.  But is that cause for me to throw a party?  Ezekiel 33:11 warns us to take, “no pleasure in the death of wicked people,” preferring only that they “turn from their wicked ways so they can live.”

Did bin Laden turn from his wicked ways?  Part of my Pollyanna heart wants to believe that in his last moments he may have had a flash of divine inspiration, realizing all his wrongs and turning to the One who can save his mortal soul.  (Dramatic, I know…)  But the more cynical, realistic side realizes that probably didn’t happen.  If that’s the case, bin Laden likely just took his permanent place in Hell.  And although the American people flippantly use the phrase (in anger) “Go to Hell,” I’d like to think that I wouldn’t wish that on my worst enemy…including bin Laden…

…but would I?  I didn’t know any of the 9/11 victims personally.  Perhaps I would feel differently about this whole ordeal if I did.  But in the last few days I’ve asked myself the question, “What if my personal public enemy #1 dropped dead tomorrow.  Would I celebrate?”  Admittedly, there would likely be a sense of relief and pleasure in my heart… *sigh.

I’ve been contemplating what Jesus’ response would be to bin Laden’s death if He were here living among us.  Would have compassion for a lost soul?  Rebuke us for killing?  Encourage forgiveness?

In the end, I long for justice.  Was it achieved by bin Laden’s death?  Did the death of one wicked man right all the wrongs that he did? 

…Who am I to judge?

“What does the Lord require of you?  That you act justly, love mercy, and walk humbly with your God.” –Micah 6:8

~ by Serena on May 4, 2011.

2 Responses to “Bin Laden’s Death”

  1. My heart is with yours, relieved, but always grieving death, especially the eternal death of an unbeliever.

  2. this is so poignant and true. An entire nation seems to continue to celebrate. At Penn State there was a huge outpour of students cheering “USA” that sunday night. They described it in a way of fear. The attacked happened when college students were 9 or 10 year old children. Osama seemed like the boogie man to them. As you said though, the one thing we seem to be passing up on is that a man (any man) is dead. Well said, honey, and well written perspective!

Leave a Reply

 
