Controlling Your Mind

I don’t know about you, but when something is bothering me, has irritated me, has hurt my feelings, has angered me or pretty much caused any other negative emotion within me, it has a tendency to pop in my head approximately 836 times a day. I’m not exaggerating.

Recently, I made a decision to not let those negative thoughts control my mind (or life, for that matter).  When one of those incidents/words/actions/feelings came into my obsessive little brain, I would toss it aside and instead force myself to come up with three things for which I’m grateful. 

At first, I had to come up with so many “grateful things” each day that I would eventually start looking around to find things to be thankful for – the shoe calendar that sits on my desk…ummm…my second monitor here at work that helps me design…uhhh….electricity!

Because I knew I WASN’T supposed to think of those things, it’s almost like my mind rebelled and focused on them more.  But I was diligent in my battle.  I’ll be honest, it wasn’t easy.  But over the next few weeks, those negative feelings came to mind less and less. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t still think of them from time to time, but they are certainly less consuming. 

I can’t help but think if the people of Philippi struggled with the same thing, as Paul was encouraged them in Philippians 4:8, “Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable – if anything is excellent or praiseworthy – think about such things.”

Do you think about such things?

~ by Serena on May 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
