The Detox

“Do Detox with Doc!” I read the sign in my chiropractor’s office.  I had no idea what it was talking about.  So when he walked in, I asked him to explain detox.  He was happy to oblige.

He described that the liver acts as a filter for our body.  It’s difficult for the liver to process toxins and preservatives that we consume in food (i.e. Triscuits that can sit on the shelf for 6 months). So he does a detox at least once a year to help cleanse his system.

I figured after 29 years of liver “build-up,” I was probably overdue.  Jonathan agreed, so we were “in.”  (But we had no idea what we were “in” for!)

The first 2 days of fasting (other than a morning and evening shake) were tough.  On Day 3, we started a limited diet – no wheat, no dairy, no caffeine, no sugar.  It also started a 4 day killer headache for me (a.k.a. caffeine withdrawl).  Thankfully, Jonathan didn’t have sympathy pains.  His worst symptom was some quickly-passing nausea.

At the end of the week, I lost 5 pounds.  Jonathan lost 10.  We’ve decided to stay on the diet until our wedding.  I feel better; I’m sleeping better; my digestion is insanely better. 

We’re on our third week now, and we’ve gotten in a groove now of what we can and can’t eat.  We’ve eaten more fruits and vegetables in the last few weeks than we have in the last few years.  We’ve found that we love goat cheese (the only kind of cheese we can have) and that rice chips aren’t inferior to tortilla (these have become a staple for my Texan).  We visit Whole Foods often, and we’ve had fun experimenting together with meals. 

It’s admittedly tough to go out to eat, but so far I’ve stuck to our diet, difficult as it may be.  I get cravings from time to time (sweet tea!), but they’re curbed by reminding myself that we get a “cheat” meal each week.  (Last week was our rehearsal dinner tasting…YUM!)

Less than 7 weeks to go! 🙂

~ by Serena on April 27, 2011.

One Response to “The Detox”

  1. […] To set physical goals and achieve them (post running 4 mini-marathons, lifting, and detox-ing) […]

Leave a Reply

 
