Everybody Loves a Sticker

I sat in my counselor’s office, giving her a run-down of my last few weeks, which admittedly happened to include some personal breakthroughs.

“Serena, that’s great!” she replied.  “You deserve a sticker!”

“A sticker?” I repeated.  Surely, I didn’t hear her right.

“Of course,” she said. “Everybody loves a sticker.”

I sat for a moment on that familiar couch and thought, What am I going to do with a sticker? She handed it to me, a flower sticker the size of a quarter.  I tossed it in my purse, unsure of what I would even do with the thing.

That evening, I pulled the sticker out of my purse and stared at it. I should put it somewhere I’ll see it, I thought.  It found its new home on the front of my journal.  It seemed like a logical location, seeing as how I take it to our sessions and usually end up journaling as part of my homework. 

Every time I’ve pulled out my spiral-bound journal (which is fairly often these days), I’ve noticed the sticker on the front, and I’ve smiled.  It brings feelings of accomplishment (like earning an A+ on a spelling test back in the day), which spurs me on in the work that I’m doing.

As usual, my counselor was right: everybody loves a sticker. 🙂

~ by Serena on April 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
