Apartment Hunting

Jonathan and I have been apartment shopping lately.  And by shopping, I mean looking for places to rent, not buy.  Our criteria seemed reasonable enough – 2 bedrooms, good location (between both of our work places), nice facilities, pet friendly, and (in a perfect world) an attached garage.

I’ll be honest that the process was overwhelming; we felt like we were on information overload. Some include basic cable.  Some include the price of water, electricity and gas, while others do not.  Some complexes have attached garages, while others only offer carports.  Some charge $20 for two pets per month; others make you pay $50 per animal per month.  Some have microwaves; others don’t. All the information began to blur, which is why my fabulous engineer fiancé made a spreadsheet that helped us sort it all out.

After touring 14 apartments, we were weary and frustrated that we hadn’t found the perfect fit…until we walked into the Retreat. Jonathan and I looked at each other and knew this is where we wanted to be.  We loved the layout, the attached garage, the location, and the girls were certainly welcome.  It seemed too good to be true.  The leasing agent warned us that they only had one, 2-bedroom apartment  available.  By the time we got back to the leasing office, however, another agent was filling out paperwork to lease it to another couple. My heart sank.

And so we filled out the application and got on the waiting list. Our leasing agent is optimistic, “We get calls all the time about people transferring jobs and having to break their lease.  You never know.”

I immediately started praying that God would open up an apartment for us there.  Then I realized that I should probably instead pray that He shows us where He wants us to live, even if it’s elsewhere (“even though I really want to live there, God!”) 

I’ll admit that it’s somewhat unnerving to know that I’m moving in less than 2 months, but I don’t know where.  I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve recited Psalm 27:14, “Wait for the Lord. Be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.”

…and that’s just what I’m trying to do.

~ by Serena on April 7, 2011.

2 Responses to “Apartment Hunting”

  1. Hi Serena…..

    Amazing…..I know EXACTLY how you feel…..know you are moving and have no idea to where. I too asked for help….to be shown what and where I needed to do and go. Finally I got my answer….exactly what I had not considered at all. I am to stay put, at least for now…..and that makes me happy. SOOOOOOO, hang in there, keep looking and you too will get your answer…..when you least expect it.

    Love, Shar

Leave a Reply

 
