I Don’t Care.

There are certain things that I am unapologetically un-interested in.  Like history.  And politics.  And (I realize I’m going to catch slack for this one) March Madness. 

I recognize that there are truths to glean from the past – so that we don’t repeat mistakes.  Likewise, I know that I should be an informed voter.  But when it comes to college basketball?  I really, genuinely, truly don’t care.

Facebook and Twitter have been all aflutter lately with comments about the tournament. Conversations can be heard walking through the hallways at work about how people are doing in our latest staff standings.  I even received a text from a friend saying, “Go Butler!  Did you see the end of that game?”  No, I wasn’t watching; I didn’t even fill out a bracket; and I likely won’t even be able to tell you who’s in the final four when the time comes.  Why?  I don’t care.

I’m cognizant of the fact that there are people who deeply care about the tournament, those who invest countless hours watching these games.  And that’s fine.  They’ll be held accountable for how they used their time on earth, just as I will some day.

Until the Madness ends, I’ve resigned myself to the fact that there will be conversations – like whose #1 pick was already knocked out – that I zone out of (though still nodding at appropriate times) and instead think about more important things, like the DSW coupon I got in the mail and when I might be able to use it. 

Does that make me uncaring or uneducated or uninformed?  Perhaps.

But guess what… I don’t care.  🙂

~ by Serena on March 25, 2011.

4 Responses to “I Don’t Care.”

  1. I am with you on this, I do not care about basketball at all. Football? That is another story!

  2. DSW coupons are MUCH more interesting!

Leave a Reply

 
