Buko

Last week, my friend Janet’s miniature schnauzer, Buko, had to be put to sleep.  Buko is Philippino for “little coconut.”  Janet and her family were missionaries in the Philippines for several years.  When they returned to the States, they got Buko as a pet.  He was so tiny that he could fit in their hands, like a little coconut.  Hence, the name.

I lived with Janet and her family during my divorce, which is when Buko and I became good friends.  He would sleep in my bed with me; he was a warm and welcome cuddle buddy.  Although I wouldn’t consider myself a dog person in general, Buko quickly won me over and held a special place in my heart. 

The last time I saw him, I wasn’t sure that he would recognize me since he had lost most of his sight and hearing in recent years.  But I still heard his high-pitched bark, reserved for those he knew and loved.  He instantly knew me, and he leaned/loved on me accordingly.

Buko loved to go on walks and be petted.  He wasn’t fond of “suds and water treatments” (He learned the word “bath,” so Janet had to come up with another way of saying it). He equally hated cats and squirrels.  (If he saw them, he would go berserk.) 

I love you, Buko.  You’ll be missed.

~ by Serena on March 11, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
