A Sad Report

Coming off of knee issues after the Mini (spanning even into October), I decided to give my body a rest.  Instead of my usual routine of running 3x a week, I worked with my personal trainer brother to develop a new lifting routine.  (I’ve been pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoy lifting, especially since I’m starting to see some results.)

Yet I still yearned to pound the pavement.  I returned to the treadmill several weeks ago, eager to challenge myself to a run.  I was hopeful that the months off would have given my body time to heal.  But 3 miles in, my knees started to ache.  Every time I’ve attempted a jog, my journey has been cut short due to pain.

I’m sad to report that I finally made the difficult decision will not be running the Mini this year.  I simply can’t.  It’s 2 months away, and I’ve yet to make it past 5 miles.  It’s a decision I’ve been avoiding because I didn’t want to face the truth: I’m not physically able to do it this year.

I’m disappointed.  Sad.  Discouraged.  I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to run again, which is a painful thought. Perhaps I just need to accept that my nearly 30-year-old body just can’t handle what it used to anymore. 

I can’t help but think of the song Blessed Be Your Name, “You give and take away, You give and take away.  My heart will choose to say, Lord, blessed be Your name.”  I have belted those lyrics from the tips of my toes more times than I can count. But when it comes right down to it (if I’m being honest), I’m more sulking than blessing His name right now…

~ by Serena on March 8, 2011.

One Response to “A Sad Report”

  1. […] weekend was the Indianapolis Mini-Marathon, in which I did not participate.  I made the decision a few months ago to not run the race due to some reoccurring knee pain when I ran.  I thought that I had mourned […]

Leave a Reply

 
