The Search for Perfect Bridesmaid Dresses

The day began at Trader Joe’s.

I mysteriously asked my friends Amy and Teri to meet me there one Saturday morning, with no explanation as to why.   “You probably wonder why I asked you to meet me here,” I began when they arrived.  “That’s because it happens to be right next door to the Bridal Superstore.  Will you be my bridesmaids?”

Squealing and hugging ensued.

We walked next door to the Posie Patch and began our search for perfect bridesmaid dresses. The store carries multiple designers, and not all dresses come in all colors. An associate assured me that most dresses come in a large variety of colors, so it shouldn’t be difficult to find a dress we like in my chosen palette.  Great!

Amy fell in love with one of the first dresses she tried on.  Wouldn’t you know, when the associate pulled the swatches it was available in, bright blue or purple weren’t options.  Naturally.

Things got even more tricky from there.  I wanted each bridesmaid to choose a style of dress that she felt comfortable in.  That’s fine and dandy, except I was then informed I needed to choose a DESIGNER for them to pick from – otherwise a cobalt blue from Alfred Angelo doesn’t match a cobalt blue from Saison Blanche.  Fine.

Except Teri and Amy couldn’t both find dresses they liked in the same designer’s collection.  We left over an hour later, discouraged.

We hit David’s Bridal next.  I was thrilled to discover that they have only 1 designer – David’s Bridal – so all dresses come in all colors.  Awesome!

Amy quickly found a strapless number that she loved.  Teri looked fabulous in separates (a halter top and skirt – that consequently looked like a dress).  I actually uttered the words, “This was way too easy!”

I spoke too soon.

For when we were checking out, the checkout lady said, “Uh… I’m sorry, the separates don’t come in your purple color.”  You’ve got to be kidding me.

So we again scoured the racks and found another suitable dress.

317 dresses later (I actually don’t know the number, but it was a lot), we ended up with purple dresses from 1 designer that my bridesmaids like and feel confident in.  Mission accomplished.

(For those of you still reading, the dress pictured in this post is not one we chose. :))

~ by Serena on February 28, 2011.

3 Responses to “The Search for Perfect Bridesmaid Dresses”

  1. Sounds like an eventful day-glad you got everything accomplished! 🙂

  2. Yeah, but have you found the shoes??? 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
