Intense

I was scanning the gym for a 25-pound weight.  I finally spotted one resting on a machine next to mine.  The unspoken rule at the gym is that as long as someone isn’t lifting the weight, you can nab it.  I was reaching for the weight when the large black man on the machine said, “I didn’t say you could have that.”

I stopped dead in my tracks.  “Oh, I’m so sorry.”  I placed the weight back on the rack.

“I’m just jokin’ with you, man,” he said as he laughed.  “My name’s Daryl.” 

“Are you sure?” I asked.  “You’re about three times my size, so I will cower away in fear.”

He finally convinced me that he was joking and that I should take the weight.  A few minutes later, he approached me on my machine.

“Girl, I got you to smile over there when we were talking, and I just have to tell you, you’ve got a great grill… you need to use it!  I see you in here all the time, and you look so intense.  It’s okay to smile every once in a while.”

While I don’t consider myself “intense,” necessarily, the more I thought about Daryl’s words, the more I realized that he was right.  I go into the gym with purpose.  I lift my weights, move from machine to machine, and I don’t really talk to people.  On one hand, I’m there to challenge my body then go home.  But Daryl helped me realize it’s okay to make a few friends along the way.

I’ve seen Daryl several times at the gym over the last few weeks.  Every time, he’s greeted with a wave and a big smile. 🙂

~ by Serena on February 1, 2011.

2 Responses to “Intense”

  1. Girlfriend, you do have a great smile! What a way that God has spoken into your life.

Leave a Reply

 
