Parallel Parking

I kind of hate parallel parking.  And by kind of, I mean a lot.

I would rather drive around the block 10 times than attempt it.  In the event that I don’t find a space to pull in easily, I will opt for paid parking before I try to parallel park, which (in my humble opinion) is straight from the devil.

I learned how to do it in Drivers Ed.  Mr. Walker patiently coached us through those steps time and time again (God bless his soul) until we got it.  In my own defense, though, that was 13 years ago!  I’ve slept since then…and successfully avoided parallel parking repeatedly.

So when I was late for Jonathan’s church (with no parking garage readily available), I was forced into doing the dirty deed.  I could hear Mr. Walker’s voice in my head.  “Line up your back bumper with the back bumper of the car in front of the space.”  Check.

Then I noticed that there are cars waiting behind me, which made me sweat buckets. (The pressure!)

“Turn the wheel sharply toward the curb while backing in, slowly straightening the wheel as you back in.” Check, check, and check.

At the end of all that, I may have been 2 feet from the curb, but I didn’t care.  My car was parked, in the spot, and no damages were made to anyone’s car in the making.  I considered it no less than a success (and miracle). 🙂

~ by Serena on January 12, 2011.

2 Responses to “Parallel Parking”

  1. Yeah Girl! I’m sure all of the people behind you were thinking, “man, I can’t do that…”

  2. Oh Amen, sister! Snakes and parallel parking are the two things that are always definitely from Satan! There was definitely no parallel parking before the fall! I can’t parallel park when people are waiting behind me… WAY too much pressure. I applaud your success of overcoming the evil that is parallel parking.

Leave a Reply

 
