Favorite Flicks of 2010

Jonathan loves movies.  I enjoy them, but nowhere near like he does.  He gets a thrill out of going to the movies and seeing a film on the big screen.  But, on the other hand, he also loves to Red Box a flick and cuddle up at home.  All that to say, I’ve watched more movies in the last year than I probably have in the last 3 years combined.  I was reflecting back over some of the amazing movies we saw this year…

Avatar – I was sure I was going to hate this one, but what can I say?  Pandora drew me in

Toy Story 3 – I’m a fan of Disney in general, but this was a beautiful ending to the triology.

Inception – Ummm… wow. 

Tangled – It was great to have Alan Menken back with the Disney crew.  (He worked on The Little Mermaid, Beauty & the Beast, Aladdin, and Pocahontas.)  Another fun, family-friendly musical.

The Chronicles of Narnia – I’ve admittedly not read the books, so I can’t speak to its literary accuracy.  However, I really enjoyed the movie and felt like it spoke to me.  You can likely expect a post about it in the near future. 🙂

Sex & the City 2 – It’s always good to have Carrie, Charlotte, Samantha, and Miranda back together!

(Other movies I really enjoyed that weren’t released in 2010 include The Blind Side, The Hurt Locker, and Julie & Julia.)

What were your favorite flicks of 2010?

~ by Serena on January 5, 2011.

3 Responses to “Favorite Flicks of 2010”

  1. I am a huge movie fan both big screen and couch watching at home. So here is my list.

    Book of Eli – I was taken by surprise by this movie. The Biblical story that runs through it is amazing. Had not expected that from a post apocalyptic movie.

    Iron Man 2 – Not as good as the first one, but still a great action film. I am really looking forward to the next movies in the Marvel series: Thor, Captain America and the Avengers.

    Toy Story 3 was definitely awesome. Always fearful of a third movie, but this was a great tearjerker ending to a wonderful series.

    Sorcerer’s Apprentice – Nicolas Cage was hilarious in this movie. And Jerry Bruckheimer knows how to make moves fun to watch.

    Expendables – Having grown up watching action films it was great fun to watch a lot of my favorite action stars all in the same movie.

    Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows – Cliffhanger!! I can’t wait for the final movie.

    Tangled was fun. So great to be able to take your entire family to a movie and really enjoy it. Disney princess movies are wonderful.

    Tron: Legacy was a favorite of mine. I am a long time fan of the original Tron so this was a great homage and continuation of the original. I have been waiting a LONG time for this sequel.

    Voyage of the Dawn Treader – Having read all the books I was disappointed in the major changes they made. The middle seemed very discombobulated. The beginning and end were awesome though and right with C.S. Lewis’ meaning and purpose.

    Worst Movie I saw this year – Skyline. What a waste of money.

  2. That isn’t 10 for 2010! 🙂 Hmmm… we really liked Harry Potter and Chronicles of Narnia. We also liked Iron Man 2, Doug would put Book of Eli on his list, but it’s just too violent and upsetting for me… we really liked Leap Year… such a cute romantic comedy (surprised it didn’t make your list, Serena!), that’s all I can really come up with… Sherlock Holmes came out in 2009, I think, but we watched it LOTS in 2010… let’s hope 2011 is a better movie year!

  3. Thanks for all the suggestions! I’m going to add them to our Netflix list. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
