Christmas Music

One of my favorite things about Christmas is the music, but it comes with certain rules (according to Serena, of course).  I don’t like to hear Christmas music before Thanksgiving.  I have a co-worker who starts listening to Christmas music in September.  (No kidding.)  I can’t handle that.  One holiday at a time, thank you.

Once I start listening to Christmas music, that’s all I listen to:  in the morning as I’m getting ready for work, when I’m driving to work, when I’m at work (thanks to Pandora).  My sister gave me the new Chris Tomlin CD for Christmas, but I haven’t listened to it yet.  I’ll have to wait until January 1…

…which is when I cut off my Christmas music.  New year = new music.  Ideally, I’d like to have my Christmas decorations down by that time, too, but that’s pushing it most years.

So what is this music that I listen to non-stop during the month of December?  Mannheim Steamroller, mostly.  I have no less than 5 of their CDs.  Sometimes I toss in there a little Hallmark Presents Sandi Patti just for variety.

What are your favorite Christmas CDs?  Does Christmas music come with rules for you, too?

~ by Serena on December 23, 2010.

5 Responses to “Christmas Music”

  1. LOVE Mannheim!!!! Would love to go to one of their concerts, but I have not been lucky enough to be where they are……..maybe some day.

  2. Ummm, so I MAY have listened to a few Christmas songs in September… it was a moment of weakness, I swear! Ha ha! 🙂

  3. The best Christmas CD I know of was called “Noel” (released on Via records). Unfortunately, it’s long out of print. I made a few Christmas music compilations though. A couple of my favorite tracks are The 77s amazing version of “Blue Christmas” and Viva Voce’s rendering of “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen”.

  4. I love Sara Groves’s Christmas album!

Leave a Reply

 
