Mary

I’ve been thinking a lot about Mary, the mother of Jesus, lately.

She was young, between 13-15 years old, and betrothed to an older man, when she was visited by an Angel of the Lord who told her that she would bear the Son of God. 

Clearly, Mary was initially confused, “How will this be,” Mary asked the Angel, “Since I am a virgin” (Luke 1:34)?  Once the Angel explained, Mary’s response was submissive, “I am the Lord’s servant. May it be as you have said” (Luke 1:38).

Mary was clearly chosen because she was “highly favored” (Luke 1:28), but I can’t help but wonder if she was freaking out.  After all, she was human, and her life was about to turn upside down.  Teen pregnancy was not prevalent in that culture, so she was automatically subjected to public scrutiny. 

Did she fear Joseph’s reaction?  Did she worry about becoming a parent – let alone to the Savior?  Did she wonder if she was worthy of such a divine task?  Was she angry that this was “disrupting” her life?  Did she fully comprehend that, “This child that you’ve delivered, will soon deliver you,” as Mark Lowry’s song Mary Did You Know? suggests.

I suppose I’ll have to wait to get answers to my questions until I get to heaven.  In the meantime, these are the things I’m pondering in my heart during this Christmas season…

~ by Serena on December 21, 2010.

One Response to “Mary”

  1. I think about this too. It does make it sound in Luke like Mary responds, “Ok, great!” without any doubt, hesitation or confusion (after the initial question). But it seems like there must have been more to the story. I’ve been doing some writing, imagining what it might have looked like.

Leave a Reply

 
