Overwhelmed.

If there’s one thing I’m known for on this blog (other than loving shoes, of course), it’s my honesty.  Whether it’s about a disappointing musical, wrestling with my faith, or my body image disorder, you hear about it. And today you’re going to get a good dose of it.

I’m overwhelmed.  That’s the best word in the English (and possibly British) dictionary for me right now.

I’m overwhelmed with wedding planning.  I want it to be over, but we still have 6 more months of this…  For someone who doesn’t like making decisions and obsesses over planning, this process has been painful, to say the least.  That doesn’t even factor in managing finances and battling other people weighing in with their unsolicited opinions.  I’m trying to have fun with the process.  Really, I am.  But (again, raw honesty) I’m overwhelmed.

I’m overwhelmed at work.  We’re shutting down Grace between Christmas and New Year’s for the first time ever.  This is an incredible blessing to get more days off, but it also means that I have to send to press this week 3 Navigators, 2 print publications, and a partridge in a pear tree.  It doesn’t help that I had a funeral bulletin dropped on me last Wednesday at 3:30 p.m. for a funeral that was 11:00 a.m. on Thursday.  (Really?) I’m grateful for the work, but (again), I’m overwhelmed.

I’m overwhelmed with life in general.  Christmas, blizzards, family, shopping, parties, working out, traveling, cleaning, not to mention trying to take time to journal and reflect.  It’s just all a little much right now.  (You know it’s bad when I broke down in the car last week when I heard Amy Grant’s Grown Up Christmas List.)

To help relieve some stress, I decided I’m not doing Christmas cards this year (so please don’t be offended that you won’t get one from me).  I don’t have the time, energy, or money I want to spend on them.  It’s at least one thing I can take off my plate, hopefully leaving me a tad bit less overwhelmed…

~ by Serena on December 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
