“Give Us This Day”

As a planner, I tend to focus on the future.  (The wedding has magnified this.)  A lot.  So much so that I often feel as though I have one foot in the future while the other is in the present.  Often times, I get overwhelmed thinking of all that I need/want to accomplish in the next six months (let alone the next 10 years).

I read the Lord’s Prayer recently when the following phrase stood out to me, “Give us this day, our daily bread.”  Now, I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve recited this prayer – or read it in the Bible.  But those words leapt off the page.

“Give us THIS DAY.”  Not TOMORROW or the next day or six months from now.  This day.  The one I’m experiencing now. 

I’m realizing that maybe I need to focus less on the future and more on the day that God has given me.  If I trust Him, chances are He’ll provide the “daily bread” I need for tomorrow, as well.

Thanks for the reminder, God…

~ by Serena on December 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
