I’m Going to Be a Bride…

I walked out of the dressing room and stood before the wall of mirrors.  As soon as I caught a glance of myself in the white dress (though it was a far cry from anything I would ever buy), my eyes welled up with tears.  I’m going to be a bride…  

All of our wedding planning up until that point had been fairly impersonal – choosing a date, reception hall, photographer, etc.  But standing in a wedding dress helped reality sink in rather quickly.  I’m going to be a bride…

I turned to my matron of honor and uttered, “I never thought I’d be here again,” as a tear fell down my cheek.  “I knew you would,” she replied (which is a beautiful example of why I love her so much).

As I tried on dress after (hideous) dress, I recalled a conversation I had with my beloved counselor, Darcy, nearly two years ago.  We were talking about marriage and how I assumed that if I ever married again, I would elope because I didn’t want people to judge me (for wearing a white dress or for having a second wedding).

Her response gave me pause.  “Serena, every part of your womanhood has been violated.  If you decide to get married again someday, it will be a beautiful celebration.  Your friends and family will want to be there to love and support you.  You will walk down the aisle as one who has been redeemed, as a pure and spotless bride.  It will be a story of redemption and joy.  Anyone who looks down on you or judges you for it, well…that tells more about the state of their heart than anything.”

 She’s right (as usual).    

At the end of the day (many, many dresses later), I found the perfect wedding gown (Sorry, details will not be divulged) to wear on June 12…because I’m going to be a bride!

~ by Serena on December 13, 2010.

2 Responses to “I’m Going to Be a Bride…”

  1. You will be a beautiful bride!! It will be a day of celebrating!!

  2. “You have stolen my heart, my sister, my bride; you have stolen my heart with one glance of your eyes…” (SoS 4:19)

Leave a Reply

 
