Advent

This past weekend, Christians began the season of Advent, a time of expectant waiting and anticipation for the coming of Jesus at Christmas. 

With 6.5 more months until our wedding, I understand anticipation.  It’s a reality I live in daily. 

While our upcoming nuptials certainly are exciting and something to look forward to, I don’t want it to be my sole focus, especially this holiday season.  So I’m making a concerted effort to center my heart on what truly matters: “All this took place to fulfill what the Lord has said through the prophet: ‘The virgin will conceive and give birth to a son, and they will call him Immanuel, which means God with us.'”  -Matthew 1:22

~ by Serena on December 3, 2010.

One Response to “Advent”

  1. At the Sara Groves concert the other night, I realized that I not only love Christmas, I also desperately need Christmas… still exploring that thought in my mind. However, I think it is something we all need… don’t know how to express my thoughts without using “Christianese,” so I’ll chew on it awhile longer, during this time of advent.

Leave a Reply

 
