Wiping the Slate Clean

I was at church recently, and we were given time during the service to pray for our enemies. 

I don’t have enemies, I thought, pompously. 

But then a face flashed in my mind. Oh yeah, she wronged me pretty badly, I thought.

God, help me to wipe the slate clean. 

As I prayed, I saw the face on a chalkboard.  It was being erased right before my eyes, one stroke at a time.  As soon as her face was gone, another appeared.  It was erased, but another took its place.  One after another, people were brought to my mind and wiped away.

I hadn’t thought of myself as bitter or unforgiving, yet the whole experience proved otherwise.  Now when these people or their actions come to mind, I pray for help in forgiving them.

“For if you forgive people their trespasses [their reckless and willful sins, leaving them, letting them go, and giving up resentment], your Heavenly Father will also forgive you.”
-Matthew 6:14 (Amplified Bible)

~ by Serena on November 4, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
