The Bachelorette Party

I can’t believe I’m going to admit this, especially in a public platform, but here goes… 

I went to a pole dancing class a few weeks ago.

There.  I said it.

Now, let me be clear on something.  This was NOT my idea.  I was a bridesmaid for my friend Amy’s wedding last weekend, and this was part of our bachelorette party festivities.  Since I was not the maid of honor, I didn’t get a say in what we did.  I just got to grin and bear it.

…and “bear it” I did.  I’ll readily admit that I was dreading every moment of this nonsense.  And the e-mail I received beforehand with instructions didn’t help.  We were NOT to wear jewelry, as it might scratch the pole.  But what we WERE supposed to wear was the real kicker: shorts, tank top, and heels.  You’ve got to be kidding me.

They weren’t kidding.  And so I showed up at Pole and Body Fitness (after getting lost – another fiasco, I might add) in my running shorts, tank top, and bright red heels (all the bridesmaids wore our matching shoes). 

We had a few snacks before we got started – you know, so we had ample energy.  We started out with what the instructor called “sexy stretches.”  I called it “what-a-man-would-pay-a-million-dollars-to-watch stretches.”

Once those were out of the way, she put on some music (“All the Single Ladies”), and the lessons began.  I have a few random comments/takeaways from this awkward experience.

First off, pole dancing is a workout!  I worked up a sweat.  And got dizzy.  Very dizzy.

I was told that I was a “natural” at pole dancing.  Ummm… I wasn’t sure how to take that.  (What a practical skill, right?)

We all laughed hysterically at ourselves as we tried to learn.  We had a blast and celebrated Amy, which is what it was all about in the first place.

~ by Serena on November 3, 2010.

4 Responses to “The Bachelorette Party”

  1. So, are you going to suggest this to your maid of honor for your bachelorette party? 😉

  2. Serena, that sounds crazy but so fun! Congrats to your friend Amy-glad she got to have a great night and celebrate with her friends!! 🙂 I regret not doing that!

  3. Oh my gosh! I would totally have died! How funny!

Leave a Reply

 
