Election Day

Today is the first Tuesday in November, which means that it’s Election Day. This means…

…for weeks we’ve tolerated commercials of candidates bashing one another.

…there are gads of signs coming up the drive supporting various candidates, since Grace acts as a polling place.

…there are lobbyists sitting outside.  (Instead of begging for my vote, they sat texting.) 

…my patriotic boss gave his “public service announcement” by encouraging us to exercise our right to vote.  (Last year, he sent me a link to information on each candidate in my district.  26 pages of information later, I wanted to cry…and close the Internet window.)

…my Grams sent me an email last week telling me to help “save the country” and making sure I knew where my polling place is in Fishers.  (I do, but that doesn’t mean I’m going.)

…I will agonize over being an uninformed voter or not voting at all (since I loathe politics so much).  I prefer the latter over researching candidates and their phony propaganda.

Did you vote?

~ by Serena on November 2, 2010.

3 Responses to “Election Day”

  1. I most definitely exercised my privilege to vote. I believe this website explains wonderfully and non-politically why we all should vote even if they “loathe politics”. Remember, voting is not about politics, it is a privilege and a responsibility of the citizens of a free and democratic nation.

    http://www.essortment.com/lifestyle/whyvote_sdqi.htm

  2. I voted. I like to use a “voter guide” to compare candidates; I ignore the ads and party propaganda. I was able to look over that and make some selections without taking too long. I think I voted in 2/3 – 3/4 of the races this time, though I overlook the ones I don’t have an opinion on. As usual, I split my votes between the three main parties.

  3. Ha ha! I love the “Patriotic Boss” remark! I also got a lecture from Miss Mimi in my old neighborhood, she works the polls every election and ALWAYS reminds me to vote. Ha ha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
