The Starbucks Experience

There’s something to be said about the Starbucks experience.  They must be doing something right.  I mean, they have over 17,000 stores in 49 counrties and pretty much keep us as a culture highly caffeinated.

So, what is it that keeps people coming back for more?  I’d venture to say that it’s more about the experience and less about the coffee.  Sure, it’s tasty.  And there’s something to be said for having variety.  Not to mention that they support fair trade.

But there’s so much more…

When I walk into my Starbucks, I’m met with “Good Mornings!” from behind the counter.  I feel welcome.

And they’ve got a good ambiance.  Even if I’m only in there for a few short minutes, I pick up their tranquil vibe.  There’s usually relaxing music playing.  Overstuffed chairs beg to be sat in.  Art on the walls grab my attention.

Upon ordering, they ask my name, which makes it more personal when my order is called.  It’s not just a non-fat tall peppermint white mocha with no whip, it’s an order for “Serena.”  Now, I’ll admit that I’m not a frequent Starbucker, mostly because it’s expensive.  However, I have friends who are known by name at their Starbucks when they walk in the door.  (“Sometimes you want to go where everybody knows your name.”)

They often ask if I would like a receipt.  No, thanks… let’s save the rainforests.

From the moment I wrap my cold little hands around that steaming cup, there’s a warmth in my spirit.  My day is off to a much better start when it begins not just with Starbucks coffee but with the Starbucks experience.

What’s your Starbucks drink of choice?

~ by Serena on October 25, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
