Abraham and Isaac

I’ve been thinking about Abraham and Isaac lately. 

If I had waited for something (in this case, a son) for 90 years, I’m guessing I would want to hold onto it with all my might when I finally received it. 

While I’m not a parent and don’t claim to fully understand the love a parent has for a child, I’ve felt glimpses of it through my girls.  I love them with every ounce my being.  The thought of laying one on the altar and ending her life is unbearable to even consider. 

I imagine tears were streaming down Abraham’s cheeks as he was feeling torn between a command from His Father and a deep love for his beloved son.

Then I think of it from Isaac’s point of view… wondering where the sacrificial animal was… his life flashing before his eyes as his father raised the knife…

If God had requested any other animal or item on that altar, Abraham would have provided it with little hesitation.  Instead, He asked for Abraham’s most prized possession: his son.  God knew that asking for such would demonstrate the depth of Abraham’s obedience, as the Angel of the Lord replied, “Now I know that you fear God, because you have not withheld from me your son, your only son” (Genesis 22:12). 

What is your most prized possession?  If God asked you to lay it on the altar, would you?

~ by Serena on October 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
