“Have Patience”

Every time I see a certain co-worker’s name (who shall remain anonymous) on my caller ID, I cringe.  It’s not that I don’t like this person.  They happen to be a fine individual.  It’s that every time we speak, they push my buttons.  They don’t necessarily ask for what they want; they usually demand and expect it.  And should I happen to say “No” for whatever reason, Lord have mercy! 

Most days, I don’t feel like I have the required patience to deal with this person, so I’ll admittedly let my work phone go to voicemail.  That at least buys me some time to simmer down before I respond (usually via e-mail). 

I’ve been reading through the New Testament in my morning devotions lately.  I read the following verse and was convicted, “Be patient with everyone” (1 Thessalonians 5:15). 

It’s one of those verses that I read and think, “Yeah, Paul, that’s all fine and dandy, but you don’t know what I have to put up with here.  Surely if you knew my situation, you’d give me a free pass on this one.”  I can plead and wish all I want, but I intrinsically know that I need to extend more grace and patience to others, especially those who require boatloads already. 

(Cue the music to the song “Have Patience” by Psalty.  I grew up singing along with the blue Songbook.  Did you?)

~ by Serena on October 18, 2010.

3 Responses to ““Have Patience””

  1. The Have Patience song isn’t by Psalty, its by Music Machine. Anna and I love that song and sing it all the time.

  2. We did musicals at our church for both The Music Machine and Psalty. “Have patience, have patience. Don’t be in such a hurry…”. Now that song will be stuck in my head al day. Maybe that’s a good thing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
