Get Low

Jonathan and I watched the movie Get Low a few weeks ago.  (It’s amazing that I didn’t have nightmares after watching this film since several scenes take place in a funeral home.)  

The movie is set in Tennessee and is based on a true story.  The main character, Felix Bush, is the town hermit who plans his funeral.  But this isn’t your typical, run-of-the-mill funeral.  He wants a living funeral and markets it as a party so that all of the town people will come.  His motivation is to reveal a deep, dark secret during his “funeral,” clearing his name of the nasty rumors that have circulated about him over the years.  (I won’t give away his secret in case you want to watch the movie which I highly recommend). 

Felix kept his secret for 40 years, which in the end prevented him from reaching out to others.  He “punished” himself by living a life of solitude.  He created a prison for himself out of his immense shame.

To a certain point, I think we’re all a little like Felix.  There are parts of our lives that we’re afraid of sharing with anyone else.  We’re sure that if people knew the truth about us, they wouldn’t love us as much…or at all.  And so we hide in our self-protecting prisons, keeping others out… 

…however, that’s not a life of freedom or authenticity.  Don’t get me wrong.  I’m not suggesting that we air our dirty laundry to anyone who will listen.  But there’s something to be said for knowing and being known, offering one another grace, and loving people through the pain that binds them.  I feel like this is what Paul meant when he instructs us in Galatians 6:2 to “bear one another’s burdens.”  Easier said than done, I know…

~ by Serena on October 12, 2010.

2 Responses to “Get Low”

  1. I completely agree. That was a big part of my big break down in college. I thought that if I didn’t keep it all together, no one would love me. When I finally just basically fell a part, and, from my perspective, everyone found out what a mess I am, guess what? They loved me so much! Of course, you know that, because you were one of the people who loved me so much, and truly helped save my life. I love you, my dear friend!

Leave a Reply

 
