Fearing My Future

Sometimes when I think about all that I’ve been through, I feel a twinge of fear for the future.  If I’ve survived all this by the age of 29, what other obstacles lie ahead?  Difficulties getting pregnant?  Cancer?  Losing my husband or a child?

I watched a Dr. Phil episode a few years ago when he said, “The best predictor of the future is the past.”  Granted, if I recall correctly, he was referring more to predicting a person’s behavior; however, Satan has used this quote repeatedly to smite fear within me.  If I’m not careful, anxiety can easily rule in my mind and my heart. 

I was challenged recently when I was reading about the Proverbs 31 Woman, particularly verse 25.  “She is clothed with strength and dignity.  She laughs at the days to come.”

If this is a woman I am to model my life after, then I, too, should be able to laugh at the days ahead, not shudder in fear of them.  I want to be so confident in my God that no matter what Satan may bring my way, I KNOW that God is going to get me through it.

All that being said, I don’t have to fear my future, and it’s a beautiful thing.

“Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” -Matthew 6:34

~ by Serena on October 8, 2010.

One Response to “Fearing My Future”

  1. The thing that gives me the greatest comfort when I feel anxious about the future is remembering all the people (like you!) who have supported me in ridiculous and amazing ways in the past, and remembering they will be there for me again as we all press forward to not just live life, but charge forward and conquer it! I also noticed that in the Psalms, sometimes David takes a minute to stand back and recount all the times God has come through for him in the past. I sometimes do this same thing in my journal, and it is a very comforting practice for me.

Leave a Reply

 
