Mary Poppins

Knowing how much I love musicals, Jonathan got me tickets for my birthday to see the traveling Broadway version of Mary Poppins, which came to the Murat last week.  I’ve gotta be honest; I was disappointed.

Don’t get me wrong.  The show was well done.  But I expected to see something similar to the Disney version.  I wasn’t sure how they were going to pull off dancing penguins or carousel horses jumping ship and going for rides, but I expected it.  It’s Broadway, after all.  If they can make the Lion King come to life with dancing and talking animals, surely they could do it for Mary Poppins

But there were no dancing penguins.  No carousel horses.  No old man laughing so hard that his chair rises to the ceiling.  Thankfully, they kept some of the recognizable songs, “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious,” “A Spoon Full of Sugar,” and “Step in Time.”  But they also added 5 new songs that I had never heard and changed the storyline to include an additional Nanny.

If I didn’t know the storyline to Mary Poppins, I probably would have enjoyed it a whole lot more.  As it was, I walked away disappointed.

~ by Serena on October 5, 2010.

4 Responses to “Mary Poppins”

  1. My understanding was that the original “Mary Poppins” from the book was a bit darker, not as lovingly whimsical as the Julie Andrews character of the movie. When this was first released on Broadway, this was the type of thing that was reflected in the reviews… I was hoping they were wrong. 😦 Sorry they weren’t! (I don’t plan to go out of my way to see it.)

  2. Thanks for the info.. I was wanting to see it but never made it there. Glad my image of Mary Poppins hasn’t been tarnished. 🙂

  3. P.L. Travers (MP orignal author) is much happier with the Bway musical than the movie version, which she hated. The stage version is much truer to her original books. Though I loved the movie, growing up, I love the stage version even more. It goes deeper and shows WHY this family needs a good nanny. She’s not just an entertainer for the kids, she helps to heal what is really ailing the family. I find it very moving!

  4. […] for on this blog (other than loving shoes, of course), it’s my honesty.  Whether it’s about a disappointing musical, wrestling with my faith, or my body image disorder, you hear about it. And today you’re going to […]

Leave a Reply

 
