More Funeral Home Fun

We’re on the hunt for the perfect reception hall.  I fear that I’m going to sound like Goldilocks here, but we’re looking for one that’s “not too expensive, not too cheap.  One that’s juuuuuust right!” 🙂

We’ve received lots of recommendations (some solicited).  A few weeks ago we visited a place called the Community Life Center.  I knew very little about it, other than it was on Washington Street.    

As soon as I spotted it, I was impressed with its exterior…until I noticed that it was right in front of a cemetery.  Why would you build such a gorgeous facility in front of a cemetery?  I thought.

That’s when we saw the sign: Flanner Buchanan Funeral Home.

You’ve got to be kidding me.  Up until that point, this place was our front-runner due to its low rental fees. 

Sensitive to my phobia, my wonderful fiancé agreed to go in first to make sure there were no dead bodies while I stood safely in the parking lot.  I was ushered in, only after learning that the Community Life Center is run by Flanner Buchanan.  The actual funeral home is next door (technically connected through a breezeway). 

I agreed to the tour, but I’ll admit that I was freaked out the entire time.  It didn’t help that there were displays about caskets, cremation, and urns.  The very nice lady who gave us the tour assured me that they don’t host weddings and funerals on the same day. 

That’s all fine and dandy…because we won’t be hosting our wedding reception there.  I just can’t get over the heebie-jeebies of having dead bodies within any close proximity, especially on my wedding day. 

Thanks anyway, Flanner Buchanan.

~ by Serena on October 4, 2010.

2 Responses to “More Funeral Home Fun”

  1. If your new book has a chapter about irony, this should be the first vignette. …you have got to be kidding me!!

  2. Ha ha! You should’ve told me that you were going there, I used to pass it all the time when I went to school. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
