I Want That

Jonathan and I attended my best friend Janet’s Mom’s memorial service last week.  I initially thought it was weird that they waited 2.5 weeks after she passed away to have the service, but after experiencing such a beautiful, honoring ceremony, I completely understood.

Betty’s daughters, son, granddaughter, and friends shared from their hearts about this beloved woman.  A pastor who served with them for years on the mission field offered the eulogy, comparing Betty to the Proverbs 31 woman.  I’ve heard these verses quoted at other funerals for women, but this time it fit.  She really lived it.

I certainly walked away from the service with tears in my eyes for our earthly loss, but I also walked away thinking, “I want that.”  It’s not that I just want people to say nice things about me after I’m gone (although that would be nice).  It’s that I want to live a life that honors God.  I want to be more like Betty – and in so doing, be more like Christ.

Well done, good and faithful servant…

~ by Serena on October 1, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
