Getting Baptized

“When did you get baptized?” I asked my fiancé during the middle of a Grace baptism service in April.

“I haven’t,” he responded.

“You WHAT?”

We continued the conversation later.  He explained that he grew up in a church that baptized children, then he didn’t make it a priority in college since he didn’t feel especially connected there.  He concluded with, “I’ll know when it’s time.”

It was time last Sunday.  He approached me a few weeks prior saying that he had been praying about it and that he wanted to get baptized. 

As he stood in the baptismal tank, he shared how he had previously made excuses for not being baptized but that he could think of no better time than having recently gotten engaged.  Surrounded by his church family and friends who showed up to support him, he promised to be a man of faith as a husband and father to our future children.  It was a beautiful moment, one I’m glad I got to experience with him.

I’m so proud of your decision, Jonathan.  I love you!

~ by Serena on September 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
