Cancer

When my niece doesn’t like something, she expresses it by saying, “It’s not my friend.”  I was going to be cute and say, “Cancer is not my friend,” but my feelings toward it are far more severe.  Quite simply, I loathe it and the destruction/pain that it brings. 

Grace hosted a funeral yesterday for a 39-year-old who found out in July that she had colon cancer.

Last year, I wrote a post celebrating that my Great Aunt was cancer free.  Unfortunately, it returned with vengeance.  She has a softball-sized tumor in her abdomen that will be removed next week.

One of my dear friends was just diagnosed with breast cancer.  She faces surgery and radiation over the next few weeks.

I hate that cancer comes straight from the Devil, who is out to “steal, kill, and destroy.”  This vicious disease steals our joy, kills our bodies, and destroys our families. 

Although Satan may be quite cunning with his schemes through this illness, I cling to the the One who can bring good out of any situation, the Great Physician Who can heal.  I believe that God has the same power today that Jesus had when He walked this earth performing miracles.  I trust Him and will continue to pray for strength, hope, and healing for those battling it. 

“At that very time, Jesus cured many who had diseases, sicknesses, and evil spirits, and gave sight to many who were blind.” -Luke 7:21

~ by Serena on September 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
