HONK!

I’m fed up with drivers around Indianapolis.  Seriously.  (If you haven’t figured that out from my other posts that have referenced this – here, here, here, and here)  I hate it that people regularly cut me off, run red lights, and tailgate.  It’s apparently the norm here since everyone does it.

I must be a patient person since it has taken me 4.5 years of living here for it to really get to me.  But even a patient girl has her boiling point…

I decided a few weeks ago that if another driver forced me to slam on my brakes to avoid hitting them, I was going to honk.  (Not only is this my way of “voicing” my frustration, people need to know when they’re being idiots and putting people’s safety in jeopardy.)  You have to understand how out of character this is for me.  I’m not sure why, but I just don’t honk.  Perhaps it’s the middle child peacemaker in me coming out.

At any rate, I’ve earned the right to honk multiple times since making my personal vow in the last few weeks, but in the moment I’m so shocked that I forget to do so!  By the time my heart has stopped pounding and I realize what just happened, it’s a good 10 seconds after the incident, which would make my honk virtually un-effective.   But I’ve not given up!  I’m determined that I WILL punish this county’s drivers, one honk at a time.

So, want to see a redhead’s temper go off (and hear it with a resounding honk)?  Turn out in front of me… I dare you…

~ by Serena on September 20, 2010.

2 Responses to “HONK!”

  1. […] – update Jonathan and I hold each other accountable when it comes to our honking habits.  So when he shared with me a few weeks ago how he successfully honked at an obnoxious driver, I […]

  2. […] drive in the “big city” (post many close calls and getting lost more times than I can […]

Leave a Reply

 
