Carded…for Nyquil?

Since I was sick a few weeks ago, I re-stocked my cold medicine supply during my last trip to Target. 

“Ma’am, I need to see your ID,” my cashier said.

“I didn’t buy any alcohol,” I corrected.

“I need to see your drivers license for your Nyquil.”

The cashier mumbled something like, “I don’t entirely understand it either…something about kids making drugs out of an ingredient in cold medicine.  I’m just doin’ my job.”

They’re carding these days for cold medicine???

~ by Serena on September 17, 2010.

4 Responses to “Carded…for Nyquil?”

  1. yup, they’ve been doing this for a couple of years now… apparently, some cold medicine ingredients are used as an ingredient in meth. Irritating, I agree, but I understand the resoning behind the “carding” now.

  2. At one point they were making everyone sign up on a list in order to get allergy medicine.

  3. Angie is right… they started carding when I worked at Marsh. Pseudoephedrine is used in the production of meth. Many drugs have re-done their formulas and have “Pseudoephedrine Free” versions of their medications so you don’t get carded. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
