It Is Well

A few weeks ago, we sang It Is Well at church (as mentioned previously, it’s one of my favorite hymns).  I belted the words from the depths of my heart, “When peace like a river attendeth my way, When sorrows like sea billows roll, Whatever my lot Thou hast taught me to say ‘It is well, it is well with my soul.’”

Yet there was a hitch in my spirit.  Was it really well?

My life is far from perfect.  There are things I would prefer to be different if I had the option/ability to change them.  Most days, I try to not dwell on those things and just live my life.  It wasn’t until I sang the words  “It is well” with my mouth that my heart cried out, “It’s NOT well, Serena…”

Quite frankly, it wasn’t well because I hadn’t given those “things” over to God.  Instead, I’ll try to handle everything on my own.  Tuck away my worries.  Dwell on the past.  Fear the future. Control all I can get my neatly-manicured hands on.

Tears streamed down my cheeks as conviction hit my heart.  Help me give it all to You, God…so that it CAN be well with my soul.

Is it well with your soul?

~ by Serena on September 14, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
