Betty: She Cried With Me

My best friend Janet’s Mom died on Thursday.  Betty was diagnosed with cancer in January.  She decided that one round of chemotherapy was enough for her 84 year old body. 

Janet lives only a few minutes away from her parents, so I spent a lot of time with them when I lived with the Friesens.  Chuck and Betty truly adopted me into their family.  I vividly remember one Sunday lunch at their home after church.  I was in the emotional throws of my divorce, and Betty asked how I was doing.  By the end of our conversation, I was sobbing in her arms, and she cried with me.  I will never forget what she said,  “Sweet Serena, we’re praying for you.  God will bring you through this.”  She was right.

She cried with me again this past January.  As she laid in her hospital bed at St. Vincent’s (when she was diagnosed with cancer), she wanted to hear all about Jonathan.  Tears of joy streamed down her cheeks as she heard about our relationship.  She wanted to meet this “Southern gentleman who woo-ed her other granddaughter,” so Jonathan and I visited her shortly after, when Betty gave her stamp of approval.  We visited her again a few weeks ago, saying our goodbyes.  Her steady decline was evident. 

Even in her last days, Betty was ministering to others – mentoring and sharing with her home healthcare workers about Jesus.  He was her passion.  She and Chuck devoted 23 years of their lives as missionaries in Taiwan and the Philippines. 

Betty, I can’t wait for you to welcome me home so I can praise Jesus with you!  I love and miss you.

~ by Serena on September 8, 2010.

One Response to “Betty: She Cried With Me”

  1. How true!! Thank you for sharing, Serena!

Leave a Reply

 
