Staff Day of Service

Our staff participated in its 3rd annual Day of Service in July, during which all of Grace’s employees join together to give back to our community. This year, half of us worked at Trinity Church, while the other half (which I happened to be a part of) labored at The Porch.

The Porch is a fairly new church plant on the East side of Indianapolis.  They meet weekly in a run-down building that begged for our attention.  The Communications Guru that I am, I was appointed the job of resident photographer.  I love photography, but there are only so many pictures I can take of people working before I couldn’t help but feel like I got off with an easy job.  (After a while, I deemed myself a runner, so I was fetching tools, delivering water, and cheering people on.)  Even so, I’ll admit that I had a bad attitude about the SDS. 

It fell on one of our hottest days this summer, and we happened to be working in a non-air-conditioned building.  Not to mention that July is the Communications Team’s busiest month (by far), so most of the time I was there, I was thinking of the 3 million tasks I had waiting for me back at my desk.

But at the end of the day, I saw the HUGE strides we made in fixing up this building.  (The before/after pictures were amazing – beyond even my mad photography skills.)  In one day, we painted the exterior, put up drywall, pulled out carpet, and put down wood flooring… the transformation was unbelievable. 

More importantly than that, though, I saw the gratitude on the faces of those church members.  They were literally moved to tears by our progress.  It was a great reminder as to why we do it each year – to give back, to touch lives, to serve…

~ by Serena on September 2, 2010.

One Response to “Staff Day of Service”

  1. Some people came to our house from the owner’s church (Kingsway). They worked several days, one of which was the hottest day of the year. I went out to work with them. It was hard but certainly much appreciated. I was really blown away by all that they did.

Leave a Reply

 
