Two-Steppin’

While we were in Texas, Jonathan introduced me to the art of two-steppin’.  You have to keep in mind that I claim to have two left feet when it comes to dancing.  Jonathan (patiently) tried to show me a few “steps” in his living room prior to the trip, but I felt ill prepared for that which I experienced. 

Country music was blaring that night at Harry’s, a place he frequented in college.  Cowboy hats, belt buckles, and boots… oh my! 

After observing the dance floor for a few minutes, I quickly recognized that there are different forms of two-steppin’.  One couple looked like they were hopping.  One guy looked like he was nearly smothering his partner with the embrace they shared.  Some couples had several inches of space between them, while others were so close a paperclip wouldn’t fit. 

We made a few laps around the dance floor before we retired to take a rest.  When Jonathan was using the facilities, I was shocked when a man in a large hat approached, “Ma’am, would you like to dance?”  I was so taken aback that I stumbled over my answer.  “Ummm…I’m with someone, but I appreciate the offer.”

All in all, it was a fun night – and a great way to spend our last night as non-engaged people. 🙂

~ by Serena on August 27, 2010.

One Response to “Two-Steppin’”

  1. […] is an Aggie.  As such, he is a Southern gentleman who says “y’all” and enjoys two-steppin’.  For those who aren’t familiar with A&M, this also means he’s huge on traditions […]

Leave a Reply

 
