We’re Engaged!

It is with utmost elation that I announce that Jonathan and I are engaged!   

He had been mentioning for months that he wanted to show me Texas A&M, his alma mater.  His dream became a reality last Sunday (a week ago yesterday). 

As we drove onto campus, he gave me a card welcoming me to A&M, saying how excited he was share this place with me.  Over the course of the next few hours, we visited 12 different locations on campus that were special and/or meaningful to him.  At each stop, he gave me a card. 

The cards spoke directly to my heart (my love language – words of affirmation)!  Each one talked about the specific location we were visiting, then he would somehow tie it back to a characteristic or something he loves about me.  (For example: at the mechanical engineering building, where he practically lived during his tenure there, the card detailed his appreciation of my intelligence and how I took my education seriously.) 

Our last stop was the Century Tree, a magnanimous tree with branches that droop over a sidewalk and rest on the ground on the other side.  (See picture above.)  Tradition has it that if you walk under it as a student alone, you’re dooming yourself to a life of singleness (or something ridiculous like that).  If you walk under with your significant other, your relationship will be blessed.  As we were approaching the tree, Jonathan shared with me that he had NEVER walked under this tree because he was saving it for the love of his life.

As we strolled under the branches, I saw a bench with candles and rose petals sprinkled all over the sidewalk.  It was there with tears streaming down his cheeks that he promised to love and take care of me as long as he’s able, got down on one knee, and asked the question I longed to hear, “Will you marry me?”

I exclaimed, “Yes!” and he slid the most stunning diamond ring I’ve ever seen onto my finger.

We were embracing and taking in the moment when he said, “Say hi to Jared.”  He hired a photographer to capture the whole thing.  (I’ll happily share the link with you once we get it!)

We’ve been engaged for a week, but it has been surreal.  I’ve shared the story multiple times, but I can’t seem to get through it without getting teary-eyed.  I honestly never thought I would love again, let alone desire marriage.  And so as I revel in the blessings and restoration He has allowed, I can’t help but shed tears of joy.  I’ve never been happier!

~ by Serena on August 16, 2010.

6 Responses to “We’re Engaged!”

  1. I was hoping you’d blog about it so I could see the details! That is such a beautiful story, and I am so happy for you! Can’t wait to see the pictures!

  2. Such a romantic! Wonderful. I am so happy for you!

  3. Congrats!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. Rejoicing with you in God’s redemption and restoration! How wide, how long, how high, how deep is His love for YOU!!!

  5. […] those who aren’t familiar with A&M, this also means he’s huge on traditions (like the Century Tree), crazy about college football, and obsessed with his class […]

  6. […] Houston to visit some friends.  While in Texas, we went to College Station (where we got engaged, remember?) to watch Texas A&M take on Texas Tech.  (I saw Pat Knight’s last regular season game […]

Leave a Reply

 
