Dad

Last year, I celebrated birthdays of family members on my blog – with one exception.  I took a blogging sabbatical while I was in Japan, which happened to fall over my Dad’s birthday.  Without further ado…

Today is my Dad’s birthday. 

Whenever I see an insect, I think of my Dad.  My sister and I did Entomology in 4-H, so I have fond memories of going to Salamonie Forest with Dad, bug nets and jars in hand, to collect our specimens.

Dad also helped us with schoolwork.  I remember sitting at the kitchen table with Dad for hours memorizing the Gettysburg Address in 5th grade.  (By the end, I’m fairly certain both Dad and I had it memorized.)  In high school, he helped me with difficult math problems.  (God obviously blessed him with patience!) 🙂

As a farmer, Dad is one of the hardest working people I know.  He gets up in the wee hours of the morning and works well into the night to get the crops planted – or harvested. I remember delivering meals to him in the field so that he could keep working through dinner.

In many ways, I learned my faith from watching Dad.  He would plant the crops, then he was forced to have faith that God would provide the necessary growth…that we would have enough moisture during the draught in the late ’80s…that we would have crops remaining after plights of insects or flooding.  Year after year, Dad put his faith in God.  And each year, God came through.

When Dad isn’t busy on the farm, his schedule is booked with the many bands he’s involved with and Colts games.  Despite the craziness of his schedule, he always makes time for family.  His grandchildren are clearly the apples of his eye.  (And Anna clearly has Pa Paw wrapped around her little finger!)

Happy Birthday, Dad!  I love you!

~ by Serena on July 29, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
