Under the Sea

As I mentioned yesterday, while on vacation I faced my fear of snorkeling.  It’s not so much that I’m scared of snorkeling necessarily…I’m scared of drowning which stems from my inability to swim. 

80 of us boarded a catamaran in Key West. About an hour later, we arrived at the 3rd largest coral reef in the world. During the ride, we were instructed (er… threatened) to “Not! Touch! Anything!” 

The view was breathtaking – bright, blue sky with crystal clear water…not a trace of land in sight.  In fact, it was so beautiful that I hesitated to get in the water.  That and – once again – my inability to swim.

I fully realize that it probably sounds ridiculous since I was in full snorkel gear – fins, mask, and life vest.  But to a girl who can’t swim, the middle of the ocean isn’t my first choice of locale.  Why on God’s green earth (the land – where I longed to be!) did we sign up for this excursion?  (My boyfriend would be the answer to the question.) 

Despite my initial hesitancy, I was determined to face my fear and figure out this whole snorkeling phenomenon.  After a few minutes of nearly hyperventilating in the water, I finally calmed down.  (It helped that Jonathan was reminding me “Just breathe!” and “You’re going to be fine!”  I felt like he was coaching me through labor or something.) 

Once I relaxed, my eyes were opened to a whole new world under the sea.  (TWO Disney references in one sentence…bonus points for me!)  Stunning coral.  Schools of fish.  I even spotted a Blue Tang like Dory in Finding Nemo

Facing my fear was clearly worth the risk of almost drowning. Once I got the hang of it, I didn’t want to quit exploring. It was stunning!

~ by Serena on July 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
