Because of His Grace

When people hear my story – that of my marriage and divorce – I’m often met with, “You’re so courageous” or “Your story is so inspiring.”

…and I never know how to respond.  Because, to me, it’s just my story.  To me, I’m not courageous.  To me, it was a matter of life and death, and I chose life. 

One friend asked me recently over lunch, “How are you not bitter?”

I nearly choked on my McAlister’s salad.  I don’t think of myself as not bitter.  I’m sure I could be more bitter, but I definitely have my moments. 

“Sometimes I am,” I responded.  “Like every time I refer to him, I never use his name.  I always call him ‘my bastard ex-husband.’”

My friend laughed, then he pushed.  “No, really…”

I had to think about it, but once I did the answer seemed obvious.  “It’s God’s grace,” I said. 

I know that’s the “Christian-eze” answer, but it’s true.  I’m so grateful that He allowed me to get out of the marriage, that we didn’t have kids, that He has healed my hurts, and that I’m able to love again.

…it’s all because of His grace.

“Praise the LORD, O my soul; all my inmost being, praise His holy name. Praise the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits…who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion, who satisfies your desires with good things…The Lord is compassionate and gracious , slow to anger, abounding in love.”
-Psalm 103:1-2, 4-5, 8

~ by Serena on July 23, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
