Of Poof and Perm

My stylist asked me last week as I was getting a trim if I’ve always had long hair.

My hair has varied a bit over the years (mostly involving cutting off and growing back out).  When I was little, I had bangs (that couldn’t lay straight, thanks to my cowlick) with long hair.  Somewhere around 3rd grade, we thought it would be cool to rat said bangs into the highest poof ball possible.  Awesome.

In 5th grade, I sported a perm.  I spent most of 7th and 8th grade growing it out. 

In 9th grade, I chopped off the remainder of the perm and went for a Lois Lane look (from the Adventures of Superman one of my favorite shows at the time).  I spent the rest of high school growing it back out. 

My sophomore year of college, I donated 10 inches of my hair to Locks of Love.  Then spent the rest of college growing my hair back out. 

After my divorce, I introduced layers to my hair.  They’ve pretty much stuck since. 

How has your hair evolved…or has it?

~ by Serena on July 20, 2010.

One Response to “Of Poof and Perm”

  1. Yes. For most of the last four years or so I’ve cut my own hair. It’s been a number of different styles as I’ve experimented. Before that it was long.

Leave a Reply

 
