It’s Good To Be Queen

10 years ago tonight, I received one of the greatest surprises – and honors – of my life: I was crowned the 2000 Wabash County 4-H Fair Queen.

It was my first year entering the pageant.  A few friends and I decided to do it together for fun.  I never imagined I would win.  In fact, after they named the Queen’s  Court – and I wasn’t one of them – I mouthed to my Mom in the audience, “I didn’t make it.”

That’s probably why my mouth hit the floor when they announced my name as queen.  It was the beginning of a whirlwind of a week. I had the honor of handing out ribbons at judgings all week – and attending the fair’s events in the evenings.  I’ve never felt so famous – or pampered – in my life.  

 One of the most meaningful moments occurred within an hour of being crowned.  I was walking to change out of my formal dress after the coronation when a mother stopped me and asked, “Do you mind if my daughter looks at you for a few moments?  She loves queens.”  I leaned down and chatted with the awestruck 4-year-old.  It took me back to being her age and wanting to be a queen.  I would watch Miss America on TV each year, judging each contestant and predicting who would win.  I deeply desired feeling so beautiful and wearing a crown.  I even practiced my queen wave in front of the mirror in my room.

…all my practicing came in handy as I rode in several parades. (Any other day of the year, the general public didn’t care who I was.  But put me on a Corvette in a parade with my crown and suddenly people treated me as royalty.  It was so bizarre.)   

I also had the opportunity to compete in the State Fair pageant.  My competition swelled to 92 beautiful women representing their counties.  I’ve rarely felt so insecure in my entire life.  In the end, I didn’t place, but it was a fun experience.

Overall, representing Wabash County in 2000 was an incredible honor, one I won’t soon forget. 🙂

~ by Serena on July 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
