Anita

Anita is my new neighbor.  She moved into the apartment below mine, and I couldn’t be happier.  She’s 81, which means she probably won’t have loud parties or crying babies to wake me up in the middle of the night.   If anything, her TV may have to be loud due to her being hard of hearing.  But since she’ll likely go to bed before 7:00 p.m., I’m likely to not be bothered. 🙂

I introduced myself to Anita a few weeks ago, and I got an earful about her life.  Her husband died 3.5 years ago after his diaphragm collapsed.  She tripped and fell in his hospital room and broke her hip, which is why she now gets around with a walker.

Anita and her husband have 3 children, who she claims are too busy to pay attention to her.  So she’s writing them out of her trust  and instead writing in her grandchildren, who were gracious enough to help her move.  They’re clearly the apples of her eye.

It was a pleasure meeting Anita, and I look forward to having her as a neighbor.  My lesson has been learned, though: when visiting, make sure I have more than 15 minutes to spare, because she loves company, which makes it hard to leave!

~ by Serena on July 6, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
