To the Vet. Again.

A few weeks ago, I dragged my girls to the vet for their obligatory yearly visit.  As I put the cat carriers away in the closet, I promised them that they wouldn’t have to go again for another year. 

I lied.

I returned home from Father’s Day (Love you, Dad!) in Wabash only to find Cloe sneezing.  A lot.  I didn’t think that much of it.  When I crawled into bed that night, she cuddled up with me.  (Cloe’s not a cuddler.)  Four hours later, I woke up to her in the same spot having trouble breathing. 

As soon as the clock struck 7:00 a.m., I called the Vet.  They said to bring her in, but they warned me that their schedule was full.   I was informed that I’d likely have to leave her for the day so that they could work her in whenever they had time. 

Please, God, don’t make me have to leave my baby.  I knew Cloe wouldn’t prefer to be left there; I wouldn’t get any work done since I’d be preoccupied worrying; and poor Sophie would be home alone and likely confused (or really enjoying the peace and quiet…one of the two).

God answered my prayer.  Not only was my favorite and preferred Vet in the office that day, she agreed to see Cloe before any other patients so that I could take her home.  (AND the Vet didn’t charge me anything, writing it off as a “follow up” from last week’s visit.)  Thanks, God!

The Vet thinks that Cloe had an allergic reaction to one of her vaccines.  They gave her a shot to help lessen her nasal congestion and lower her fever.  They assured me that it would take several days for the antibiotics to kick in, just like in humans.

The next few days were distressing, to say the least.  My normally strong, playful Cloe was lethargic and weak.  She sneezed /snorted, cuddled, and refused to eat.  (She finally gave in when I resorted to buying canned food.)  It pained me to watch my baby hurt so badly.  God, please help her little body fight off whatever this is.

Again, God answered my prayer (albeit not as quickly as I would have liked)!  Over one week later, Cloe is finally back to her usual, independent self.  I couldn’t cuddle with her now if I wanted to.  And I wouldn’t trade it for the world. 🙂

~ by Serena on June 30, 2010.

One Response to “To the Vet. Again.”

  1. […] cherish every day I’m granted to parent my girls (post Sophie falling out the window and Cloe’s allergic reaction last […]

Leave a Reply

 
